Archive

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve TucholkeSlasher Girls & Monster Boys by Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke, Cat Winters
Published by Dial Books on August 18th 2015
Genres: Anthology, Horror, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Goodreads

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters

3.5 Stars

What a great anthology! I really enjoyed it. Some of the stories were phenomenal and there was only one I really disliked. Overall, I’m very impressed with how original and strange some of these were. I feel like the authors really dared to do something different here. Although none of these stories scared me, I still found them to be creepy and eerie. If you’re in the mood for something fitting for Halloween, definitely pick this one up.

Continue reading

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy NelsonI'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
Published by Dial Books on September 16th 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 371
Goodreads

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell.

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

4 Stars

I’ll Give You The Sun is one of those books that has the talent of making you feel both grief-strickenly depressed and deliriously happy within 371 pages. This heartfelt contemporary focuses on a broken sibling bond and how years of miscommunication, misunderstandings, and a terrible life event tore the two unseparable twins Jude and Noah apart. This book also had me realize why I enjoy the fantasy genre more than contemporaries: It hurts less. Get ready for those feels, people.

“It’s time for second chances. It’s time to remake the world.”

Continue reading

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial