Archive

The Likeness by Tana French

The Likeness by Tana FrenchThe Likeness by Tana French
Series: Dublin Murder Squad #2
Published by Viking on July 17th 2008
Genres: Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 466
Goodreads

The haunting follow up to the Edgar Award-winning debut In the Woods.

Tana French astonished critics and readers alike with her mesmerizing debut novel, In the Woods. Now both French and Detective Cassie Maddox return to unravel a case even more sinister and enigmatic than the first. Six months after the events of In the Woods, an urgent telephone call beckons Cassie to a grisly crime scene. The victim looks exactly like Cassie and carries ID identifying herself as Alexandra Madison, an alias Cassie once used. Suddenly, Cassie must discover not only who killed this girl, but, more importantly, who is this girl?

5 Stars

I found out early that you can throw yourself away, missing what you’ve lost.

This settles it. Tana French is now one of my new favourite authors. I read and loved In The Woods and immediately had the desire to pick up the sequel (though I forced myself to wait a little). I devoured The Likeness in a couple of days and I can now officially say that while In the Woods is a very good book, The Likeness is absolutely brilliant and one of favourites of the year so far.

Continue reading

In the Woods by Tana French

In the Woods by Tana FrenchIn the Woods by Tana French
Series: Dublin Murder Squad #1
Published by Viking on May 17th 2007
Genres: Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 429
Goodreads

A gripping thriller and New York Times bestseller from the acclaimed author of Broken Harbor and The Secret Place

As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, mothers begin to call their children home. But on this warm evening, three children do not return from the dark and silent woods. When the police arrive, they find only one of the children gripping a tree trunk in terror, wearing blood-filled sneakers, and unable to recall a single detail of the previous hours.

Twenty years later, the found boy, Rob Ryan, is a detective on the Dublin Murder Squad and keeps his past a secret. But when a twelve-year-old girl is found murdered in the same woods, he and Detective Cassie Maddox—his partner and closest friend—find themselves investigating a case chillingly similar to the previous unsolved mystery. Now, with only snippets of long-buried memories to guide him, Ryan has the chance to uncover both the mystery of the case before him and that of his own shadowy past.
Richly atmospheric and stunning in its complexity, In the Woods is utterly convincing and surprising to the end.

Look for French's new mystery, The Trespasser, for more of the Dublin Murder Squad.

4.5 Stars

What I am telling you, before you begin my story, is this – two things: I crave truth. And I lie.

If I ever hear anyone say that murder mysteries are never well-written or literary I will shove this book in their face. I devoured this rather large gem within a couple days and found myself thinking about it long after I had finished.

I can see how this book will only be enjoyed by a certain type of reader. If you’re annoyed by metaphors, similes and other literary devices or don’t like wordy books, this one isn’t for you. If you’re a reader who needs everything resolved and explained in the end, this one isn’t for you either. But if you enjoy psychological thrillers with messed up characters, absolutely pick this up.

Continue reading

Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes

Hidden Bodies by Caroline KepnesHidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes
Series: You #2
Published by Atria/Emily Bestler Books on February 23rd 2016
Genres: Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 448
Goodreads

Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Now he’s heading west to Los Angeles, the city of second chances, determined to put his past behind him.

In Hollywood, Joe blends in effortlessly with the other young upstarts. He eats guac, works in a bookstore, and flirts with a journalist neighbor. But while others seem fixated on their own reflections, Joe can’t stop looking over his shoulder. The problem with hidden bodies is that they don’t always stay that way. They re-emerge, like dark thoughts, multiplying and threatening to destroy what Joe wants most: true love. And when he finds it in a darkened room in Soho House, he’s more desperate than ever to keep his secrets buried. He doesn’t want to hurt his new girlfriend—he wants to be with her forever. But if she ever finds out what he’s done, he may not have a choice...

3.5 Stars

Sometimes I’m really glad that I still listen to my gut instinct and don’t solely rely on reviews (though they are right most of the time). I almost didn’t pick this book up because so many people who loved You said that they found the sequel disappointing.

And I can definitely see why people think so: Whilst You is a psychological thriller with a heavy lean on contemporary, Hidden Bodies is a contemporary with a slight lean on psychological thriller. The tone is very different, yet also the same, because it is still narrated by Joe who is just as witty, intelligent and sociopathic as in the previous book.

Continue reading

The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre

The Girl in 6E by A.R. TorreThe Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre
Series: Deanna Madden #1
Published by Redhook on January 21st 2014
Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Erotica, Mental health
Pages: 352
Goodreads

I haven't touched a human in three years. That seems like it would be a difficult task, but it's not. Not anymore, thanks to the internet.

I am, quite possibly, the most popular recluse ever. Not many shut-ins have a 200-member fan club, a bank account in the seven-figure range, and hundreds of men lining up to pay for undivided attention.

They get satisfaction, I get a distraction. Their secret desires are nothing compared to why I hide... my lust for blood, my love of death.

Taking their money is easy. Keeping all these secrets... one is bound to escape.

What if you hid yourself away because all you could think of was killing? And what if one girl's life depending on you venturing into society?

Enter a world of lies, thrills, fears, and all desires, in this original thriller from A. R. Torre.

3.5 Stars

Erotic Thriller. A genre I thought I would never read. And yet, I’ve been hearing so many good things about this one that I just had the urge to pick it up. And I’m SO glad I did, it was the perfect book for me to read right now, with exams taking up 99% of my brain space.

Continue reading

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Dark Places by Gillian FlynnDark Places by Gillian Flynn
Published by Shaye Areheart Books on May 5th 2009
Genres: Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 349
Goodreads

FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF GONE GIRL

Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in “The Satan Sacrifice" of Kinnakee, Kansas.” She survived—and famously testified that her fifteen-year-old brother, Ben, was the killer. Twenty-five years later, the Kill Club—a secret secret society obsessed with notorious crimes—locates Libby and pumps her for details. They hope to discover proof that may free Ben. Libby hopes to turn a profit off her tragic history: She’ll reconnect with the players from that night and report her findings to the club—for a fee. As Libby’s search takes her from shabby Missouri strip clubs to abandoned Oklahoma tourist towns, the unimaginable truth emerges, and Libby finds herself right back where she started—on the run from a killer.

4 Stars

This book was insaaaaane. But so so good. Dark Places was my first Gillian Flynn book (though I have seen the Gone Girl movie) but I fully plan on picking up her other books now.

It’s the kind of novel that makes you question what on earth we humans can come up with. I kept wondering what was going on in Gyllian Flynn’s head. How does she think of these things?

Continue reading

You by Caroline Kepnes

You by Caroline KepnesYou by Caroline Kepnes
Series: You #1
Published by Atria/Emily Bestler Books on September 30th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 422
Goodreads

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

4.5 Stars

You by Caroline Kepnes might be the most unsettling book I have ever read. And I loved every second of it. It messes with your mind and makes you think about your surroundings in a whole new light.

Continue reading

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg LarssonThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Series: Millennium #1
Published by Quercus on June 14th 2008
Genres: Adult, Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 533
Goodreads

A murder mystery, family saga, love story, and a tale of financial intrigue wrapped into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel.

Harriet Vanger, scion of one of Sweden's wealthiest families, disappeared over forty years ago. All these years later, her aged uncle continues to seek the truth. He hires Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist recently trapped by a libel conviction, to investigate. He is aided by the pierced and tattooed punk prodigy Lisbeth Salander. Together they tap into a vein of unfathomable iniquity and astonishing corruption.

3 Stars

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was probably one of the most hyped thrillers in the last decade. All in all, it was a good book but it wasn’t mind-blowing, and most of all, it was gross. Please be aware that this thriller features graphic rape, violence, and gory scenes. And I think my brain might have just gotten an overdose (this calls for a herbal tea and a warm bath). Stieg Larsson is not an author for the faint-hearted, let me tell you that.

Continue reading

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

I Am the Messenger by Markus ZusakI Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Borzoi Books on May 9th 2006
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery/Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 360
Goodreads

protect the diamonds
survive the clubs
dig deep through the spades
feel the hearts

Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He's pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.

That's when the first ace arrives in the mail.

That's when Ed becomes the messenger.

Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary) until only one question remains: Who's behind Ed's mission?

3.5 Stars

I Am the Messenger is, in many ways, a beautiful book. The story is touching, the message heartfelt and the characters interesting and complex. It’s also a book full of humour and it ended up making me smile (and even laugh) a couple of times. Do not go into this expecting it to be like The Book Thief, the two books are nothing alike and you will be disappointed. For those with an open mind however, I believe this book has quite a lot to say.

Continue reading

Chinese Cooking for Diamond Thieves by Dave Lowry

Chinese Cooking for Diamond Thieves by Dave LowryChinese Cooking for Diamond Thieves by Dave Lowry
Published by Mariner Books on July 8th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 288
Goodreads

Driving home after being kicked out of college, Tucker meets and picks up the mysterious Corinne Chang at a rest stop. Infatuated, and with nothing better to do, he ends up with her in St. Louis, where he gets a job as a chef in a Chinese restaurant. Even though he’s a gwai lo—a foreign devil—his cooking skills impress the Chinese patrons of the restaurant, and his wooing skills impress Corinne when she joins him there as a waitress. But when Chinese gangsters show up demanding diamonds they believe Tucker’s kind-of, sort-of, don’t-call-her-a-girlfriend stole, he and his friends—which luckily include a couple of FBI agents—have to figure out just who is gunning for Corinne and how to stop them. Good thing Tucker is a Mandarin-speaking martial arts master who isn’t afraid to throw the first punch. With its one-of-a-kind hero, Chinese Cooking for Diamond Thieves is perfect for anyone who loves cooking, Chinese culture, bad jokes, and young love. Diamonds are forever . . . unless Chinese mobsters decide they want them back.

3.5 Stars

Chinese Cooking for Diamond Thieves is a book I had never heard of and would never have picked up if not for a personal recommendation from one of my friends. The way she talked about this book intrigued me, it sounded like something so completely different to all my usual reads that I found myself drawn to it. Also, that title sure didn’t hurt either.

Continue reading

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial